The Experience

The BESIDE Festival is THE place to reconnect with nature!

Come discover, touch, taste, and explore in a festive atmosphere. From sunrise on a paddleboard to a jam session around a campfire, through a photography workshop, a conference given by a famous explorer, and an Elisapie concert as the sun sets — that's what a BESIDE Festival day is like.

Choose among a great number of experiences to reconnect the way you want to. You can even camp on the island. Because nature is a lot more than just outdoor recreation.

Practical Workshops

Learning in Order to Stay Rooted to the Past and Look to the Future

When was the last time you created or repaired something with your own hands? Cleaning a fish, making a fire, picking mushrooms, building a shelter... little by little, this traditional and crucial knowledge is getting lost. Developed by experienced and innovative artisans, these practical workshops brought to you by Boréale give you back the tools you need to reconnect with nature and build, bit by bit, a more sustainable future.

View all workshops

Nature + Culture Conferences

Getting Inspired by Pioneering Creativity

When you let nature and culture collide, you open the door to artistic innovation, and also to new rituals and ways of life. The Festival BESIDE's conferences highlight the daring and pleasure involved in allowing nature and culture to work as a team. Imagine if culture reinvented itself when in contact with nature, and nature reaped the benefits of a flourishing culture.

View all conferences

Outdoor Activities

Experiencing the Elements With Confidence

All kinds of activities brought to you by SAIL are on offer so you can have fun and put your skills to the test. From bouldering to paddleboarding, through river canoeing, sea and river kayaking, rabaska canoeing, hiking, trail running, fishing, and yoga, there's something for everyone.

View all activities

Intimate Concerts:

Experiencing Musical Performances in Nature

As part of a special collaboration with the Festival de musique émergente (FME), the Festival BESIDE offers exceptional performances, in the forest or by the water. It's the perfect opportunity to get together and celebrate nature and culture in the open air.

View all concerts

The Festival BESIDE is also:

  • access to the Parc national des Îles-de-Boucherville and the freedom to explore its 2 square miles [5 km2] of wilderness
  • finding out what aboriginal tourism has to offer through Québec's 11 First Nations and 55 Communities
  • BESIDE documentary screenings for relaxation and inspiration
  • a village geared toward fun and relaxation with an exhibitor and discovery area, food trucks, a bar, and hammocks
  • a camp zone, where children between the ages of 5 and 12 can take a break from their parents and play in nature for half a day

L'expérience

Le Festival BESIDE c’est LE happening pour renouer avec la nature !

Venez découvrir, toucher, goûter et explorer dans une ambiance festive. Du lever du soleil en SUP à une jam session autour du feu de camp, en passant par un atelier de photos, une conférence d'un grand explorateur et un concert de Elisapie au coucher du soleil - c’est ça une journée au Festival BESIDE.

Choisissez parmi une multitude d'expériences pour renouer à votre manière. Vous pouvez même camper sur l’ile. Parce que la nature, c’est bien plus que du plein air.

Ateliers pratiques

apprendre pour s’ancrer dans le passé et se tourner vers l’avenir.

À quand remonte la dernière fois que vous avez créé ou réparé quelque chose de vos mains ? Nettoyer un poisson, faire un feu, cueillir des champignons, construire un abri… peu à peu, ce savoir-faire ancestral et essentiel se perd. Développés par des artisans d’expérience et novateurs, les ateliers pratiques présentés par Boréale vous redonnent les outils pour renouer avec la nature et bâtir petit à petit un avenir plus durable.

Tous les ateliers

Conférences nature + culture

s’inspirer de la créativité des pionniers.

Quand on laisse la nature et la culture s’entrechoquer, on ouvre la porte à l’innovation artistique, mais aussi à de nouveaux rituels et modes de vie. Les conférences du Festival BESIDE mettent en lumière l’audace et le plaisir de permettre à la nature et à la culture de s’apprivoiser. Et si la culture se réinventait au contact de la nature tandis que la nature profitait de son effervescence?

Tous les conferences

Activités de plein air

expérimenter les éléments en toute confiance.

Toutes sortes d’activités présentées par SAIL sont offertes pour s’amuser et tester ses habiletés. De l’escalade de bloc au SUP, en passant par le canot de rivière, le kayak de mer et de rivière, le rabaska, la randonnée, la course en sentier, la pêche et le yoga, tout le monde y trouve son compte.

Tous les activités

Concerts intimes

vivre des performances musicales en nature.

En collaboration spéciale avec le Festival de musique émergente (FME), le Festival BESIDE vous offre des prestations exceptionnelles, en forêt comme sur le bord de l’eau. C’est l’occasion parfaite de se rassembler et de célébrer ensemble la nature et la culture au grand air.

Tous les concerts

Le Festival BESIDE, c’est aussi:

  • Le droit d’accès au parc national des Îles-de-Boucherville et à ses 5 km2 de nature à explorer librement.
  • Un accès gratuit pour les moins de 17 ans.
  • Un camping sur les îles
  • La découverte de l’offre touristique des 11 nations et des 55 communautés autochtones du Québec.
  • Des projections pour relaxer au grand air et se laisser inspirer par des documentaires BESIDE.
  • Des démonstrations par Les Forges de Montréal.
  • Un village propice au divertissement et à la détente avec une zone d’exposants et de découvertes, des camions de cuisine de rue, un bar et des hamacs.
  • Une zone camp pour les enfants où les 5 à 12 ans pourront prendre une pause des parents et jouer en nature pendant une demi-journée de découvertes.